Post-Awesome-Experience Disorder

GlacierJune-7302stitch2_stitch

The problem with eating a delicious ice cream cone is that, eventually, it’s gone.

I eat slowly. Not just ice cream, but any food I enjoy, as friends can attest to. I like to savor the experience and make it last.

When it is finally gone, you need to be full and satisfied. Or else you’ll look over at someone else’s ice cream cone and be all like, ‘mmmmm… ice cream…’

So. I’m back in the USA. The ice cream is gone, the adventure is over, and I’m here.

Don’t get me wrong, it’s nice being back and seeing family and friends and acquaintances. Seeing mountains has done my heart good, and it’s nice to enjoy taking a hot shower again, rather than constantly being a hot shower of sweat. Milk tastes better here. Barbecue sauce and ranch dressing are available here. The beds are more comfortable.

Yes, the material benefits are definitely there.

But honestly, I’ve been dealing with slight off-and-on depression after the return. I don’t think it’s culture shock… more like experience shock. Like coming down off of a four month long amusement park roller coaster ride, getting on a bus, and going home.GlacierJune-7316

Not that Cambodia or New Zealand or Thailand were amusement parks, far from it. There was a lot of work involved, some stepping out in faith, and things didn’t always turn out how I wanted them to.

But the whole experience… it was something to savor.

Now, my future plans are the priority. And procrastination comes easy, since making life-changing decisions isn’t my strong point. So here I am, listening for God’s voice in all of this, and wondering where I will be in several months.

The vision (which I still haven’t talked about here) is hopefully taking a little more form. I hope I can announce it before too long.

In the meantime… enjoy some photos from the return to the beautiful state of Montana! All of my photos are available as prints, by the way…

GlacierJune-7347tone1GlacierJune-7115GlacierJune-7179MayFlowers-7014

Leave a comment