Visual and Written Communication

 

I haven’t written much in recent days. Lately, I’ve preferred to say things through images, and I’ve added many photos on my website and my Facebook page. People seem to like it more, too. It’s had a ten times higher response than this travel writing journal, and that’s fine with me. This journal is more personal anyway – talking about personal experiences and places and people.

I probably won’t ‘share’ this site so much as the other.

People seem to really enjoy my photos, so I don’t feel too bad putting them out there in front of people’s eyes. People can interpret and enjoy the imagery with just a glance. It’s easier to enjoy it than it is to create it. No matter how long it took me to fly to that location, climb the mountain, or wait for the sunrise, it only takes a moment for the spectator to see every pixel of color the picture has to offer.

It is a truly rare picture that gives further or different meanings upon multiple viewings.

Writing, however, takes a little more work to enjoy. It is in ways easier and more difficult to create. Your body need not leave home to write, but your mind must. Your imagination must travel and meet new people.

Writing is a more specific and honest, as well. It has opinions, shades, and meanings that take effort for people to see. Unless we’re talking Garfield and comic strips, it takes focus and thought to enjoy someone’s writing.

So there you have it. Some random thoughts and, in a way, an explanation as to why I haven’t said much here. And if you read this and felt cheated, just go over here: arnesonfoto.com and it will make it all better.

Leave a comment